IESA Steps in International Market with Its First Office in Taipei, Taiwan

India Electronics and Semiconductor Association (IESA) has set up its first-ever international office in Taipei, Taiwan. Dr Mignonne Chan, Director General, IESA (Taiwan), along with Ashwini K. Aggarwal, Chairman, IESA, and delegates from partner states of Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Kerala were present at the IESA – Taiwan office launch, in addition to the many distinguished guests from Taiwan. The office is housed in Taipei 101 Office Tower. Both India and Taiwan attach immense importance to the event with 100 key players drawn from business, government, academia and media gracing the inauguration.

Ashwini K. Aggarwal, Chairman, IESA, designated Dr Man-Jung Mignonne Chan as Director General of IESA (Taipei Office) by handing over the official seal, followed by many blessings and welcome remarks from Gince Mattam, Deputy Director General of the India Taipei Association; Sing-Ying Lee, Director General, Department of International Cooperation & Economic Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Dr Jang-Hwa Leu, Director General, Industrial Development Bureau, Ministry of Economic Affairs; Mdm Jen-Ni Yang, Director General, Ministry of Economic Affairs; Chiou Chyou-Huey, Director General, Department of Academia-Industry Collaboration & Science Park Affairs, Ministry of Science & Technology; Dr Lin-Wu Kuo, Vice-Chairman, TAITRA; and Dr Mumin Chen, Secretary General, Taiwan-India Parliamentary Friendship Association.

Director General Lee says, “Taiwan’s ICT industry is one of the world’s key players. Some already have their manufacturing facilities in India. The Ministry of Foreign Affair is pleased to welcome the IESA (Taipei Office), which will enhance India-Taiwan business collaboration. Taiwan plays a critical role in the global semiconductor supply chain. We commend the establishment of IESA (Taipei Office), and look forward to jointly shaping a new era for the bilateral industrial cooperation.”

Sridharan Madhusudhanan, Director General, India-Taipei Association, assured Dr Chan of his “full support to IESA (Taipei Office)”.

Taiwan has played an indispensable role in the world semiconductor manufacturing over the past two decades. The strengths of Taiwan in the eyes of the world are its high-quality talent pool with strong work ethics; a supportive business-friendly government and regulatory environment; a strong quality-focussed technology manufacturing ecosystem that drives a cost-competitive infrastructure; and business leaders’ farsighted vision on industry upscale and timely restructuring.

Speaking at the launch, Ashwini K Aggarwal, Chairman, IESA, commented, “The Taiwan office inauguration is part of IESA’s goal to improve collaboration on manufacturing capabilities between Taiwan and India. India has seen emerging green shoots in the Electronics, Systems Design and Manufacturing space in the recent times. It has received a strong response to its ESDM policies and has seen evolution of its Solar Fab and a number of marquee industries. We are very excited by the synergies that the countries would derive from this partnership. Taiwan is home to one of the most robust semiconductors and electronics ecosystems in the world and is by far the largest consumer of semiconductor materials. We believe India has a strong proposition to offer to Taiwanese investors, and look forward to enabling the trade bridge between the countries. The new office will be managed by Dr Mignonne Chan. We thank Dr Chan and her team for efforts put forward in making this inauguration a success.”

The Taiwan office was inaugurated by Ashwini K. Aggarwal, Chairman, IESA; Dr Mignonne Chan, Director General, IESA; Anilkumar Muniswamy, Vice-Chairman, IESA, and the State Government officials Nirmalata M, Vice-President, IT Promotions, Electronics and Information Technology Agency, Government of Andhra Pradesh; Shri Keerthi Lal Kala, Principal Investment Officer, Chhattisgarh Infotech Promotion Society (CHiPS); Shri M. Sivasankar, Secretary, IT & Electronics Department and OSD to Chief Minister, Government of Kerala, on August 21, 2017 at the Taipei 101 Office Tower.